An international journey in York - Reisverslag uit York, Verenigd Koninkrijk van martina diehl - WaarBenJij.nu An international journey in York - Reisverslag uit York, Verenigd Koninkrijk van martina diehl - WaarBenJij.nu

An international journey in York

Door: Martina

Blijf op de hoogte en volg martina

25 Mei 2013 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, York

No need to go from country to country to meet awesome people from all over the world when you're all together in York!
Sadly, for most of them, the journey has come to an end... ready for a new journey to begin (For instance: do some more travelling and see everyone again in their own country!)
I still have a month of journey left to go in York... won't be the same.

I'd like to take this opportunity to firstly thank all of you amazing people from Norway, Germany, Sweden, The U.S., New Zealand, did I miss countries? for being there, for taking me on board when I was on crutches and getting me out there when my yearling horse had to be put down. It was not an easy start for me due to all this chaos, but you didn't give up and kept inviting me to go do fun things, which was great. Thank you... !!!
I had a lovely time walking 'round York, partying it up at the SU and at Kuda, roughing it up in Edinburgh. I enjoyed every moment with you guys!!
Secondly, it is also good to know that I can now visit places and have a place to stay or friends to show me around! Know my door is always open for any of you and all of you. You truly are great people and I hope you'll all stay in my life foreverandeverandever, just like the memories!

In my life I have had to let go, hold on and go through it all again and again and again... it doesn't get easier. It gets easier not to let it show, whatever it is.. but it's never easier to deal with knowing that you're not going to see everyone whenever you want. Media has made it more accessible, making it possible for us to call our friends all around the world... but let's be honest: when does that happen?
I have Skyped with four friends and my mum since I've arrived here. I find it's just so much better to see each other in person.

Of course there are those 'friends' that just disappear out of your life, with words left unsaid, promises broken... and you hold on to a friendship that's really gone. They might live around the corner from you or go to the same uni, but it's awkward seeing them, knowing something's missing.
I am still there, even for these 'friends', because I am. because I can be. and life's too short .. might as well spread the love (like a fever, I ain't ever coming down - BRMC)!
But I am happy to say that I've only met lovely people here, who I hope I will stay in touch with for a long time to come! :)

So, back to happy thoughts!
I'm now listening to a mixCD, I think it's the first one I've ever gotten from someone! It's summer tunes and it's exciting :)
"Flying high at speed of sound
On the night bus, heading out
I'll call you now
We'll meet on streets, and we'll run around
Leave everyone behind
The name-droppers and the unkinds
And we'll meet our friends
Blue plastic bags, full of cans
Like hooded ghosts, we don't make a sound
Feel the earth pull us, hand in hand"

Kind of sums it up! :)

So I'm ready to have another month of fun and games, writing my dissertation, enjoying the sunshine, wind and rain... (that almost sounds like a royal Dutch song, only better...)
Playing music, hopefully doing some horsewhispering so I'll know what to whisper to my horse, to make her understand how much I've missed her, when I see her again.
and then I'll be spending my last week in York with two great friends from Amsterdam who will be picking me up! So excited!! :D

There will be another 'leaving York' blog I presume, but this is for all you people who have already left or are leaving soon! York, and life, won't be the same without you. Please do come visit Amsterdam or wherever I may be in the future, any time!

“Don't be dismayed at goodbyes, a farewell is necessary before you can meet again and meeting again, after moments or lifetimes, is certain for those who are friends.” - Richard Bach

<3

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigd Koninkrijk, York

martina

<3 music, horses, people, parties, traveling and life in general.

Actief sinds 17 Sept. 2008
Verslag gelezen: 239
Totaal aantal bezoekers 34885

Voorgaande reizen:

16 Juli 2013 - 16 Juli 2013

Barcelona 2013

15 Januari 2013 - 20 Juni 2013

York 2013

19 Juli 2012 - 05 Augustus 2012

Ireland 2012

29 Juni 2011 - 01 Augustus 2011

Australia take 5

30 Mei 2011 - 04 Juni 2011

Stratford

12 Oktober 2009 - 15 Oktober 2009

Even op en neer naar Engeland.

11 Juli 2009 - 01 Augustus 2009

The States...

26 September 2008 - 11 Januari 2009

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: