it's raining, it's pouring.. - Reisverslag uit Bangalow, Australië van martina diehl - WaarBenJij.nu it's raining, it's pouring.. - Reisverslag uit Bangalow, Australië van martina diehl - WaarBenJij.nu

it's raining, it's pouring..

Door: martina

Blijf op de hoogte en volg martina

15 Juli 2011 | Australië, Bangalow

but it's still warmer here than it is in Amsterdam, and that makes me happy.
that's what you get for saying it's a cold winter..

Although this is one of the coldest winters they've had over here in a long time, it is still warmer in day time than a summer is in Amsterdam. We've had one night where it did go below zero, but that was one night.
The sun has been shining most of the week, and it's been alright during the day. I've been entertaining myself mostly by going to the Lighthouse and hanging in Byron, drove into Lismore today and back via the route that I used to always take, no crazy blue fiddlers in the streets though- maybe cos it was raining? - lucky me :)

so this party I went to at Cocos, christmas in July it was called- there are photos on facebook (cocomangas) .. the nightlife is very different here than what it is in Amsterdam. It attracts a very young public... it's quite British.. as in the girls are all underdressed everyone gets smashed before the night's even started and then everyone's out to pull anyone. pretty, ugly.. nobody cares. it's crazy. haha but me, being too sober to fit in with the crowd of drunk randomness, I just had a good time dancing with most of the randoms and with some friends of Quita :)

Then... I have rented a car, it's a honda getz, ruined completely by the hailstorm they had here three years ago which is why it was cheap to rent. But lucky for me everyone around here has a Honda Getz in the same colour, so at least I know which one's mine. I hadn't mentioned the car crashing into the tree last time I was here... but then the lady giving me the car was all like: so yeahh, if someone else hits your car it's insured but you shouldn't crash it into trees blabla. -.-" and everyone here of course still remembers the crash. and reminds me of it all the time. joy!

I went to see the grandparents on wednesday, well.. they're Mieke's parents but I get to call them grandparents when I'm here, it's quite nice. :) having Speculaasjes and cups of tea and talking about the old days... and I can just sit, sip my cup of tea and listen to amazing stories. yey!

so I have a car, I've been around... I have found my favourite chai latte (well, up till now...).. it's at the "why not" cafe and it's so good.. mmm !!
food here is really good too, I'm living a very healthy vegetarian lifestyle which is partly gluten free, and I'm trying to lose some weight, but how do I do that with all the lovely food around me all the time... ohhh exercise.. yeh... maybe. the lighthouse walk was quite hectic, might be enough for a few days haha.. I saw 8! whales there (at the most easternly point of Australia, I might add..), four playing and spouting in the distance and two actually quite near, got to love the whales.
and they're talent for dodging cameras! grr

besides all the walking, relaxing, reading, playing the ukulele and enjoying life with friends here (like going out for dinner and watching movies), I have been remembering all these awesome moments of last time I was here, and about all things I've been through since... which I feel now, I kind of needed.. things to stop or slow down, it was all getting ahead of me...
anyway, now I'm back, full of energy and ready to take on the world! *coughs* I might have taken kung fu panda a bit to seriously...

XXM

ps. Harry Potter fans are insane, honestly.. they were dressed up bringing owls and stuff to the cinema for the premiere! :O and queueing for the movie at 6 and it didn't start till midnight. and wearing witch hats and harry potter glasses. I was scared. I'm going to see it next week when the freaks have calmed down.

  • 15 Juli 2011 - 06:44

    Jordi:

    Nice story!

    I think ill get you à Harry Potter hat for your birthday!

    Keep on enjoying!

  • 15 Juli 2011 - 08:24

    Mum:

    Giggles, you're doing good! Time for reflexion.

  • 18 Juli 2011 - 20:29

    Dad:

    You have a nice relaxed way of writing. It's only just developing. See if you want to write a short story or summat.
    Did you find a place to stay for next week? Did you meet anyone to share songs with?
    I think I've got the next 3 months or years off work but Oz iz not really on anymore. Maybe Ireland.
    Jane and I are off to the Northumberland coast for a couple of weeks. We'll be dropping in at Emily's and Sophy's to get our laundry done! See you after that? Love...

  • 19 Juli 2011 - 01:16

    Martina Diehl:

    Yess, I've figured out where to stay, I'm staying with Hans at the MYTH and then back to Quita's for a few days before I go up to Brisbane and back home.
    Seeing you near the end of August sounds good, I will e-mail you soon!! or maybe skype? see if I can get myself out of bed early enough so we can have a chat
    Love to Jane, Emily, Sophy& the rest.

    love, XX M

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

martina

<3 music, horses, people, parties, traveling and life in general.

Actief sinds 17 Sept. 2008
Verslag gelezen: 207
Totaal aantal bezoekers 34912

Voorgaande reizen:

16 Juli 2013 - 16 Juli 2013

Barcelona 2013

15 Januari 2013 - 20 Juni 2013

York 2013

19 Juli 2012 - 05 Augustus 2012

Ireland 2012

29 Juni 2011 - 01 Augustus 2011

Australia take 5

30 Mei 2011 - 04 Juni 2011

Stratford

12 Oktober 2009 - 15 Oktober 2009

Even op en neer naar Engeland.

11 Juli 2009 - 01 Augustus 2009

The States...

26 September 2008 - 11 Januari 2009

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: