the awkward moment when Voldemort gives you a hug - Reisverslag uit Alstonville, Australië van martina diehl - WaarBenJij.nu the awkward moment when Voldemort gives you a hug - Reisverslag uit Alstonville, Australië van martina diehl - WaarBenJij.nu

the awkward moment when Voldemort gives you a hug

Door: martina

Blijf op de hoogte en volg martina

20 Juli 2011 | Australië, Alstonville

I watched Harry Potter last night, and my title refers to the moment when Voldemort gives Draco Malfoy a hug <3 how awkward would that be though.
then there's the awkward moment when Hagrid hugs you... and the awkward moment when Ron Weasly has a beerbelly.. and last but not least, the awkward moment when Harry's son looks like Justin Bieber.

OK so that pretty much sums up the movie. I enjoyed it thoroughly and am slightly depressed that this was the last Harry Potter movie made :( although the books are a lot better.
so, enough with the Harry Potter stuff...

Over the weekend I house-sat with Quita and Ryan, quite literally.. we sat. oh, and stroked their labradoodle (which I don't hate as much as I hate poodles), and watched movies. and did nothing too tiring.. we went out for dinner on the friday and met up with Sita, and played pool on pooltables for midgets, it made me miss PlanB a little :( after miserably failing at pool, which I of course blame on the crooked cue, the miniature balls (that's what she said?) and the crooked table for midgets... we went back to the house with two other friends of Quita's, Quita, Ryan and Sita... and left two drunk boys behind. who called me margarita because they prefer that drink to martini (fair enough right?) then Saturday we spent all day doing nothing, in the evening Rodney and Stacy (another friend of Quita's) came around and we did facemasks and painting finger nails and that... my fingernails are now shocking pink, my choice was grey/black, purple or pink.. I chose pink. I might regret it now.
then we played the WII... I also found out that I suck at MarioKart, or at least need a lot more practice before I stop crashing into everything, including trees. haha.
and then I slept, not long enough... and then Sunday came..

We had a family BBQ at Ongel & Grandpa's (my Aussie grandparents hehe) with the most amazing cakes I have ever seen in my life. haha :D
one was made by Anjes, a Victoria Sponge, then there was a chocolate log and... a cake with chocolate and orange made by an actual baker :) I was happy... less happy with the fact that I couldn't try all of them because I'd possibly feel sick afterwards. Anywayy... then Terry called me, said he was going to pick me up and we'd go up the coast. so that's what he did, the only thing I knew when we left was that we were going to see Lil Jon. Which we did. We drove up in 50 minutes (45 if you miss out the wrong turn he made), it's usually at least a 1,5 hour drive. Nice Terry!
We stayed in a 5star hotel (Q1) in Surfer's paradise, it was huuuge with pretty views and lovely people. Two friends of Terry showed up, a DJ and a photographer.. and later on Belly and Lisa arrived.. after having my hair straightened and all that, we left for Lil Jon who was performing at "Sin City", awesome club! great music! lots of obese people. This was a complete different experience from Cocos where I'd been the week before. The people here were really relaxed. I'd kind of expected all these gangsters, yet there were none.. OK maybe two. other than that lots of surfers and just generally nice people. Lil Jon was, well, not my thing but still pretty good. Then we went to this other club where there was lots of hiphop and R&B. It was a great night and well worth everything + did I mention that Terry is an awesome guy, just for the record. :) driving me up there, getting the hotel and the tickets for Lil Jon. :D

I'm staying at the MYTH now, there is no internet, so if I don't get back to you soon enough you know why that is.
Other than that I am just chillin' and enjoying the views, reading books and looking for inspiration that I can't find. I just finished reading "Juliet, Naked" by Nick Hornby, and one of the characters says that songs are usually written with closure, so they're usually about the past. I'll just blame the writer's block on that I'm living in the now and I have closed most things of my past. Which would be a good thing.

So, tonight there's a dinner at Mieke's, Might ride a horse today, and otherwise tomorrow. Did some groundwork with Samson (big Percheron cross) today which went quite well so who knows I might get on his back..
Only 11 more days left in the warm land down under. (It is beautiful, hot and sunny.. in daytime that is :) at night it is still very cold. but I'll live.)

For now I'll get back to enjoying my Chai Latte, because I can.

XXM

  • 20 Juli 2011 - 08:19

    Mum:

    THINKS: Closure is a funny thing. We humans need closure to move on to other things, while at the same time we know that closure is a thing of our own imagination. For instance, we can imagine closure of things that we imagine to happen in the future, like, if I imagine sipping chai latte later today, I can feel happier. Closure in the real world is always relative to its wider context. So, there was closure for the dodo, but not for all the other animals that live on. And we can imagine that there may be closure for the polar bear but we can't be sure (which is a good thing because at least we can try to do something about it). So, the 'idea' of closure helps us humans to cope with uncertainty and complexity and if motivates us to move along. It's all in our minds, let's not forget that...

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

martina

<3 music, horses, people, parties, traveling and life in general.

Actief sinds 17 Sept. 2008
Verslag gelezen: 274
Totaal aantal bezoekers 34921

Voorgaande reizen:

16 Juli 2013 - 16 Juli 2013

Barcelona 2013

15 Januari 2013 - 20 Juni 2013

York 2013

19 Juli 2012 - 05 Augustus 2012

Ireland 2012

29 Juni 2011 - 01 Augustus 2011

Australia take 5

30 Mei 2011 - 04 Juni 2011

Stratford

12 Oktober 2009 - 15 Oktober 2009

Even op en neer naar Engeland.

11 Juli 2009 - 01 Augustus 2009

The States...

26 September 2008 - 11 Januari 2009

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: