Taking it one hop at a time - Reisverslag uit York, Verenigd Koninkrijk van martina diehl - WaarBenJij.nu Taking it one hop at a time - Reisverslag uit York, Verenigd Koninkrijk van martina diehl - WaarBenJij.nu

Taking it one hop at a time

Door: Martina

Blijf op de hoogte en volg martina

16 Januari 2013 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, York

Completely frustrated and annoyed with this wooden moominpappa figure which I got for christmas to put up in my room. Try putting together a 3D moomin, it involves six pieces that should slot into each other but they don't. Or I can't. Whatever.
Anyway, I arrived in York yesterday with mum after a smooth trip on the ferry. We were rocked to sleep after listening to this awful singer (mum and I tried to make it better by joining in, but then he wanted us to sing all the songs that we didn't really know the words to... we were just copying, improvising and harmonising. doh!)

As the snow came falling down from the pretty white sky, traffic jams in Holland were forming, and supposedly they'd be here too. But we missed them, yay! So we arrived at the house pretty early and mum took up most of my stuff to my room with some help from my housemates, and I found places for all of my stuff. And it actually fits, in this room which is no bigger than the stable my horse is currently in. Luckily, I am a lot smaller than my horse is, so I get to have a desk and a wardrobe AND a bed. :o

After doing the important things like putting up the pictures and unpacking the ukulele, Mum and I went into town for a little stroll and to see if my English phone was still working, and to check on the banks. I felt a bit like the kids in Mary Poppins... All the banks want me but can't give me exactly what I want (I would really just like a student account but no, you need to have proof that you are going to be studying in the UK for the next three years).
We had some nice vegetable pasties and a good cup of tea, found a health food store which had my omega 3-6-9 (I feed it to my horse too, I'm hoping one day I'll turn into one. I am making progress by living in the same amount of space that my horse has and feeding on the same things: muesli and vegan omega). We also bought some herbs, but you don't really care, do you?
Then we walked a bit further, and did our best to fit the role of the tourist for a bit, taking pictures in awkward places because 'the sky looks so pretty behind those buildings, look at the light!', etc.
On the way back we went to Tescos and I found what I was looking for, kind of. Aren't I lucky.

We got back to the house - without a front door key I must add - and had lots of teaaa and a well deserved rest. I can tell you that it's not just 'strolling around town' when you have a bad knee, an ankle that won't function properly yet cos it's not used to carrying all the weight anymore, and a crutch to scare people off with, which they stopped believing in when they saw me take on all the stairs and steps we 'ran' into.

Anyway...We went out to a pub around the corner from my new home for dinner and the place was deserted when we arrived. We had some nice food though and they were all very friendly, We were sitting there, enjoying our apple crumble with custard and then all of a sudden about 30 students took over the place, so it wasn't as quiet as I thought it was after all. It was pretty sweeet!

Today I picked up the keys to the house at the agency's office, and all of a sudden they were really nice to me, which was weird after they'd sent me very unkind and unprofessional emails before, but apparently they do that... I was happy to learn that I'm not the only one who they were rude to, yay! Apparently they have not learnt from their mistakes though. But I got my keys, so now I feel like I am actually home, which is nice.

I think I'll hop around a bit again tomorrow, but until then I'm quite happy with my stroopwafels and dropjes watching some series on internet and working on my bookreviews (they're almost done whoo!)

Uni starts the 28th, so I will have some time to explore the city, get to know some people, work on my thesis and prepare for uni.

Love you,
XX Martina

ps. I'll love you even more if you're available on the 16th and 17th of February or on the 24th of February and have a car (and like horses) and want to drive me to a place near Liverpool or Birmingham where we (or I) can watch and learn about how natural horsemanship is really done. (the pros at work: Pat Parelli 16-17feb. and Monty Roberts 24 feb.)
:):):):):):):)

  • 16 Januari 2013 - 23:56

    Vanessa:

    Good luck and most of all: have fun, in the UK for the next 3 years. Love to see people following their dreams.

    All the best,

    Vanessa

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigd Koninkrijk, York

martina

<3 music, horses, people, parties, traveling and life in general.

Actief sinds 17 Sept. 2008
Verslag gelezen: 268
Totaal aantal bezoekers 34920

Voorgaande reizen:

16 Juli 2013 - 16 Juli 2013

Barcelona 2013

15 Januari 2013 - 20 Juni 2013

York 2013

19 Juli 2012 - 05 Augustus 2012

Ireland 2012

29 Juni 2011 - 01 Augustus 2011

Australia take 5

30 Mei 2011 - 04 Juni 2011

Stratford

12 Oktober 2009 - 15 Oktober 2009

Even op en neer naar Engeland.

11 Juli 2009 - 01 Augustus 2009

The States...

26 September 2008 - 11 Januari 2009

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: