The Sky is the Limit - Reisverslag uit York, Verenigd Koninkrijk van martina diehl - WaarBenJij.nu The Sky is the Limit - Reisverslag uit York, Verenigd Koninkrijk van martina diehl - WaarBenJij.nu

The Sky is the Limit

Door: Martina Diehl

Blijf op de hoogte en volg martina

16 Juni 2013 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, York

This time next week I'll be having my first night back home, it's weird how these six months have gone by so quickly!
I've been through all the highs and the lows by myself, only asking for help when I needed it or I wanted it, knowing it was there but it costing more effort than a knock on your mum's study-door.

It's been a time of self-reflection: Where am I in life? What will make me happy? Am I happy? Yes, I'm incredibly happy! My emotions take over sometimes, and that happens, it's all part of this thing we call life. I miss knowing that Laphroaig will be there when I get back, because he won't. Then again, I can't wait till I see Passoa again! I have missed my bestie so much, although I'm sure she won't have missed me. She's recently moved to her new home, where she's enjoying her time with her 'bitches' and her 'boyfriend(s)'. I'm sure she's having the time of her life :)

I have learnt how to cook properly, learnt about the value of a nutritious diet, and about how much amaaaazing vegan and vegetarian food there is out there.. and how much nicer most organic food is most of the time!

The other day I played my first ever solo gig on the ukulele, I know I've played a song before on the uke during a gig, but these were my own songs. My Dad and stepmum came along to see it which made it so much more special. It was the first time my Dad's seen me on stage... and according to him I did him proud! Word has it he even sang along to some of the songs!
I am going to miss not having my Dad around the corner now, but it makes me happy to know that our relationship has gotten stronger, even better. Also, my relationship with my stepmum has improved, which is always nice!
They gave me reeeeeally pretty shoes as an early-birthday present, and no that's not why our relationship has gotten better (but it helps, *jokes*)

I had a lovely natural horsemanship lesson last week, we did some liberty work and some one-rein riding. Both were indescribably amazing. It still surprises me how much a horse teaches me about myself. I started off by just walking 'round the arena and letting the horse eat. Then I had to keep an eye on the horse to see if he was taking any interest at all in me, which he was. Then when I tried to get him away from the food and to where I wanted to be with him he thought: no.
After three goes though he gave in, and all I did was ask. No pressure, no force. It reminds you that there's never any need for pressure or force, once you gain trust ... the sky's the limit!
The riding was great too, with just a halter and a rope, one rein. I do wayyyy too much with my reins! so this was really good practice of how I should use my weight, my body, my legs, my feet, my toes... to get the horse to go where I would like him to go... and hey, he did it!
I'm all ready to apply what I've learnt to my horse, hoping it works like that too.
The instructor was amazing too, and I sincerely hope we'll stay in touch. He was very relaxed, and basically treated me like he did the horses: he was nice, he only asked and therefore he gained my trust. I wish more people would behave that way... Society's a b*tch sometimes!

I've been on a really nice bike ride with two of my friends here, we got lost and then found our way back again. It was fun! and the sun was out, and the sky was slightly cloudy, the grass was green the smell of the countryside was nice. We had a good time.

I'm currently writing a new song, which I hope will get whipped into shape with help from my singing teacher! Another thing I'm looking forward to back home... I have been slacking so much on technique because there's been too little time and because I'd rather not disturb the housemates with my ugly sounds to warm up my voice hehe!

My dissertation's almost finished! Just a bit of rewriting to do and I'll be done, so exciting!

Tomorrow morning two of my bestest friends will be arriving and we'll have a few days of fun before we head back home, to 'that other home'... Cos York/England has definitely become a home to me! I am going to miss all you crazy people, I am already missing all the wonderful crazy Study Abroad people, but I'm sure we will all meet again.

Love,
X M

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigd Koninkrijk, York

martina

<3 music, horses, people, parties, traveling and life in general.

Actief sinds 17 Sept. 2008
Verslag gelezen: 286
Totaal aantal bezoekers 34896

Voorgaande reizen:

16 Juli 2013 - 16 Juli 2013

Barcelona 2013

15 Januari 2013 - 20 Juni 2013

York 2013

19 Juli 2012 - 05 Augustus 2012

Ireland 2012

29 Juni 2011 - 01 Augustus 2011

Australia take 5

30 Mei 2011 - 04 Juni 2011

Stratford

12 Oktober 2009 - 15 Oktober 2009

Even op en neer naar Engeland.

11 Juli 2009 - 01 Augustus 2009

The States...

26 September 2008 - 11 Januari 2009

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: