Every minute counts - Reisverslag uit York, Verenigd Koninkrijk van martina diehl - WaarBenJij.nu Every minute counts - Reisverslag uit York, Verenigd Koninkrijk van martina diehl - WaarBenJij.nu

Every minute counts

Door: martina

Blijf op de hoogte en volg martina

09 Mei 2013 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, York

I went to Edinburgh for a few days to feel the wind in my hair, the breeze on my face and then I got sunshine, and a tan.

We had a lovely time wandering 'round the streets of Edinburgh, hopping in and out of shops and pubs, walking up to the Castle and to Arthur's seat and just randomly strolling 'round the city centre.

On the train back to York I wrote this:

The windows weep lost stories that they carry with them, everywhere the wheels take them. The windows entertain themselves with, well, with our gaze. Staring out at a world passing us by, or is it us passing the world by? Time never seems to be on our side.
"The Perceived duration of each minute varies from person to person. As you get older, you become more aware that time isn't on your side and every minute that passes is gone forever." - Dr. John C Taylor, OBE
A stream of thoughts, fear, love, loss, moods pass the dented, dazed windows every day.
I gaze out of this windows, as I see tears trickling down it. Is it the reflection of the hidden self, who is hiding even from me? For sometimes I feel numb from all the hassle, and I crave a safer place.
But I do not know what it is I crave for, for I have never seen its face. I often over think and I occasionally judge that what has not been, just so I can run. With pride in my pocket and the wind in my hair, I call it: "moving on"
But is it really moving on?
The past can't be repeated, just like the colour white is permanently damaged when stained, it can be painted over but it will never the same again. Just like a scar will fade, yet it will not dissolve. The tears are in the past, they have found the bottom of the window where they will evaporate.
There's so much to live for now. I do long to find out how to decide which track to turn on, or off, and whether it will take me round, shake me off or lead me to an unknown place. A place where I can see the choices I have made. The choices that have shaped me into me.

So, moving on...
Edinburgh is amaaazing. It's very pretty, and even prettier in the sun! I had a great time listening to music, laughing with (and maybe at, but then again, maybe not) friends and strangers. My knee and the rest of my leg managed to do lots of walking, and I'm very proud of it all! :) Arthur's seat was my first 'hike' since I've been back on my legs (unless you count a little walk 'round Litton, but let's not).
I sadly did not bring back the sun from Scotland, and it is currently raining in the dam. But it's still pretty... the leaves are green, the geese want to be friends (especially if you have food), and life is still busy but great. :)

Next stop:
Litton.
then ceilidh.
then sessions...
lots of writing my dissertation & other projects.
then Newcastle.
and then, well... more writing.
And in a bit over a month I'll be going back to the Dam! How time flies.

Enjoy every moment, for "to live is the rarest thing, most people exist, that is all" Make sure you live! ;)

X

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigd Koninkrijk, York

martina

<3 music, horses, people, parties, traveling and life in general.

Actief sinds 17 Sept. 2008
Verslag gelezen: 155
Totaal aantal bezoekers 34951

Voorgaande reizen:

16 Juli 2013 - 16 Juli 2013

Barcelona 2013

15 Januari 2013 - 20 Juni 2013

York 2013

19 Juli 2012 - 05 Augustus 2012

Ireland 2012

29 Juni 2011 - 01 Augustus 2011

Australia take 5

30 Mei 2011 - 04 Juni 2011

Stratford

12 Oktober 2009 - 15 Oktober 2009

Even op en neer naar Engeland.

11 Juli 2009 - 01 Augustus 2009

The States...

26 September 2008 - 11 Januari 2009

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: